Meanwhile, on Onderon…

Although I am not entirely a fan of teenagery romance (especially on Star Wars) and the whole idea of ‘love in the time of war’ types of themes, I am pleasantly surprised by the three (somewhat) Ahsoka centric episodes that have aired over the past month on the Clone Wars.  It is actually really good to see Ahsoka episodes where it’s not just about her ability to fight as a Jedi in-training but something that’s a bit more personal to her.  She really has had to concentrate her efforts on her emotions taking the back seat while she’s focusing as a warrior and yet you still see them peaking through.  I’ve particularly loved the lines from Anakin to her “Are you losing focus?” (A War on Two Fronts) and “Always put purpose ahead of your feelings” (Front Runners).

The unspoken bond between Anakin and Ahsoka somehow seems a bit deeper (at least portrayed that way) than ever shown between Anakin and Obi-Wan.  Maybe it was the bad acting by Hayden (who I don’t care what you say, I will never like) who just had terrible lines like “you’re like a father to me” while the conversation thus far between Tano and Skywalker has pretty much been subtle, well-hidden yet quite profound.  Perhaps it’s trial and error.  Maybe the prequels were rushed, the dialogue was rushed, the acting was mediocre and because we are indeed in Season Five of the Clone Wars where we’ve got to know the characters slowly, on a weekly basis and the power that be (Lucasfilm associates) are constantly improving and hiring new staff that are making the content better.

(I’d also like to point out that I have read some SWEU books and listened to many SWEU audiobooks where they talk about Anakin’s training and Obi Wan being his mentor obviously and yet I felt that the bond / connection wasn’t as deep as it should have been).

I am an advocate for subtlety, the things you can express without saying much is fundamentally my mantra in life.  Thus far the subtle things that they’ve showed indicating Anakin’s sympathy when the audience knows why he understands but the characters themselves don’t know, yet he’s playing it cool is just the most amazing thing ever. The three episodes: “A War on Two Fronts / “Front Runners” / “The Soft War” have actually made me start rooting for ‘team lusoka’ (lux + ahsoka) and now I wouldn’t mind if she just gives up the Jedi religion and runs off with Lux.  (Thanks for that image @strwrsgrl)

I also liked the insinuating approached towards sibling rivalry which was finally kind of revealed in the third episode.  I am looking forward to “Tipping Points.”

Other thoughts / comments: Okay so it’s really annoying to know (now) that this story arc supposedly takes place BEFORERevival” because Adi Gallia is still alive in this. Honestly, how hard is it to show episodes in somewhat of a chronological order?  Secondly, in my last post I said something about Sidious killing Ahsoka, and later I realized that that’s probably not a good idea because eventually Anakin / Darth Vader does go and work for Sidious (spoiler alert) so the fact that he kills off one of his favorite people is probably not a smart move, unless it’s the same where he just lies to Skywalker about it.

https://mcjazzie.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/tcw-final.jpg

UPDATE:

theFORCEbook Fangirls and guest theFORCEbook.com member Kweh-Chan discuss the Onderon Arc on our Blog Talk Radio Podcast.  Click on the link to listen. “Clone Words, Episode 1: The Onderon Arc.

One thought on “Meanwhile, on Onderon…

  1. strwrsgrl says:

    I love it! ‘team lusoka’ and actually it wasn’t me but my husband that wants Ahsoka to run of with Lux. I do feel that she should break from the Jedi order due to philosophical beliefs (or get killed. Don’t tell my husband I said that, lol.)

Leave a Reply

